Northern Rivers Mayors, Who's In?


Final numbers are now in for the Ballina and Byron shires, with counting still taking place on some parts of the mid north coast
Most of the north coast’s mayors are now known.
The final results for the Byron Shire are in with Greens candidate Simon Richardson being elected as mayor with 7090 votes, ahead of Independent Diane Woods on 6232.
In the Ballina Shire, Independent David Wright is the new mayor with 9323 votes, ahead of Independent Sharon Cadwallader on 7646.
Former Kyogle councillor Independent Ernie Bennett is the new mayor of the neighbouring Richmond Valley Council with 6254 votes, ahead of Independent Robert Mustow on 3799.
In Lismore counting is still taking place, but Labor’s Jenny Dowell has won convincingly with more than 53 per cent of the vote ahead, of Independent Neil Marks with 21 per cent.

The Tweed, Clarence Valley and Kyogle, councils do not have popularly elected mayors.
For more election results you can visit the NSW Electoral Commission homepage.

Source: ABC

Share socially

LinkedIn Google+

Subscribe to NRBM